Français Discover the Island Useful links

LITTORAL

Download our free mobile app from Google Play or Apple Store

The Constellations of Île d’Orléans

Île d’Orléans keeps secrets, treasures of nature, anecdotes of sailors, embroidered houses, moving memories, joyful encounters, artistic breaths, legends of wizards. The Island is the guardian of thousands of stories. What if these stories were told to you during a walk along the coast?

In addition to the interpretative panels present on the island, illustrating and relating in a factual way aspects of its history, the LITTORAL application offers a more intimate narration, a portrait and an awareness of the territory through the eyes and the hearts of those who inhabit it. Like a postal letter, an anecdote told, a diary, the circuits become a pretext to tell a multitude of testimonies on the beauty of everyday life and the intrinsic poetry of the island.

Unique walking routes

The layout of the circuits on a map, punctuated sometimes by loops and sometimes by out-and-back segments, with various landmarks, viewpoints and points of interest, strongly resembles Constellations, which inspired the unifying concept for the project. The constellations are timeless and form a set of connected networks. They become the common thread that evokes insularity. They are lights of the past, contemplated in our present. The Constellations are also means of reference for navigation, one of the founding elements of the island.

Thus, the island will become like a mirror of the sky with its own stories, its own constellations, its relationship to the surrounding river, itself a mirror of the sky. You thus explore a second sky. A unique sky dotted with testimonials, light love stories, living correspondence and singular personalities who have shaped, according to the tides, Île d’Orléans.

Une carte des constellations de l'île d'Orléans

The MRC of Île d’Orléans is the initiator of this coastal enhancement project, and has benefited from the collaboration of municipalities, residents who have contributed to the interpretive content and member tourism businesses. Watch the steps that led to the realization of the project.

The following consulting firms have contributed to the various phases of the project’s development, from the identification of segments of the coast accessible on foot, to the development of the mobile application, including the elaboration of the concept and the interpretative content: Nature Québec, Cultura, Hybride Paysage and the Escargo Collective with Geneviève Murray museologist, the Ethnological and Multimedia Investigation Laboratory (LEEM) of Laval University and Altkey.

This project was made possible thanks to the financial participation of the Government of Quebec, through its Ministry of Culture and Communications and Ministry of Tourism, the partners of the Agreement on the Landscape of the Capitale-Nationale, Destination Québec city and the MRC of Ile d’Orleans.

Consult the summary of each of the Constellations

English Découvrez l’Île Liens utiles

LITTORAL

Les constellations de l’Île d’Orléans

L’île d’Orléans garde des secrets, des trésors de nature, des anecdotes de marins, des maisons broderies, des souvenirs émouvants, des rencontres joyeuses, des souffles artistiques, des légendes de sorciers. L’Île est la gardienne de milliers d’histoires. Et si ces histoires vous étaient racontées lors d’une promenade au fil de l’eau ?

En complément aux panneaux interprétatifs présents sur l’île, tous illustrant et relatant de manière factuelle des volets de son histoire, l’application LITTORAL offre une narration plus intime, un portrait et une sensibilisation au territoire à travers les yeux et le cœur de ceux qui l’habitent. Comme une lettre postale, une anecdote racontée, un journal intime, les parcours deviennent un prétexte pour raconter une multitude de témoignages sur la beauté du quotidien et la poésie intrinsèque de l’île.

Des parcours pédestres uniques

Le tracé des parcours sur une carte, ponctués de boucle et de segments aller-retour, avec divers points de repère, points de vue et points d’intérêt, ressemble fortement à des Constellations, ce qui a inspiré le concept unificateur pour le projet. Les constellations sont intemporelles et forment un ensemble de réseaux connectés. Elles deviennent le fil conducteur qui évoque l’insularité. Elles sont lumières du passé, contemplées dans notre présent. Les constellations sont aussi des moyens de repères pour la navigation, un des éléments fondateurs de l’île d’Orléans.

Ainsi, l’île deviendra comme un miroir du ciel avec ses propres contes, ses propres constellations, son rapport au fleuve l’entourant, lui-même un miroir du ciel. Vous explorerez ainsi un deuxième ciel, un ciel unique parsemé de témoignages, d’histoires d’amour légères, de correspondances vivantes et de personnalités singulières qui ont façonné, au gré des marées, l’Île d’Orléans.

Une carte des constellations de l'île d'Orléans

La MRC de L’Île-d’Orléans est l’initiatrice de ce projet de mise en valeur du littoral, et a bénéficié de la collaboration des municipalités, des résidents ayant contribué au contenu interprétatif et des entreprises touristiques membres.

Ce projet a pu être réalisé grâce à la participation financière du Gouvernement du Québec (ministère Culture et Communications et ministère du tourisme), les partenaires de l’Entente sur les Paysage de la Capitale-Nationale, Destination Québec cité ainsi que la MRC de L’Île-d’Orléans.

Voici les Constellations actuellement disponibles